Nostalgia Sets In

I am writing a brief post this morning because as I am packing up my apartment, I am finding many memories and becoming quite nostalgic. It amazes me how much can slip our minds in such a short amount of time. Our days go by so quickly, our thoughts and goals constantly changing and evolving, and in the bustle so many great memories get pushed to the recesses of our minds, only to be stirred back to consciousness when we come across an old letter or a slightly wrinkled photo from years gone by. I have 5 days left and I am getting a little sad to leave Chicago now. I know there is so much to look forward to in the near future, but right now, seeing all these memories and packing them up is bringing up a lot of emotions.

I’ve been trying to find time to see all of my Chicago friends one last time before I leave. Last night I had the pleasure of having dinner with one of them. I think he hit the nail on the head when he said that last year I seemed like a big ball of yarn and now it’s as if I have unraveled, opened up, and can more clearly see where I want to go and what I want to do. I still have a long way to go, but I have to say I agree with him: I’m more of an individual now. I can stand on my own, and I have new and exciting goals I’m striving for.

I’m sure the next five days will be filled with more reminiscing, but ultimately, a look at memories is really a celebration, of my past but even more so of new things coming in the future. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

