Two Days till showtime!

In just two days, The Barak Ballet will present L.A. Moves. I am so honored to be a part of this performance and perform Lux Aeterna choreographed by Melissa Barak.

We have been working very hard the past few weeks getting performance ready. For me, the biggest difficulty with this piece was letting go and almost trying to make lines not so classical. I came right from Sleeping Beauty with Ballet West where I had to make sure every step I took was a classical line. Now I need to try and forget a bit about the technique and bring more of my soul and feeling into the dancing. In Lux Aeterna, I am representing someone who is facing death and I need to show resistance, fear, struggle, and finally give in. It has felt satisfying to be dancing more free and emotionally connected to the dance and am really looking forward to the the performance on Thursday. It is a bit stressful that all this work is for just one performance but I am sure that pressure will actually work in our favor and help us perform our best.

The performance is on Thursday October 24, 2013, 8pm at the Broad Stage in Santa Monica. It consists of  four unique pieces danced by beautiful, dedicated artists. Hope to see you there!

Here are a few links about the performance:

http://barakballet.org/

http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/arts/culture/la-et-cm-melissa-barak-ballet-20131020,0,5280714.story

http://blogs.laweekly.com/arts/2013/10/melissa_barak_ballet.php

Leave a Reply

